Home / Politics / Breaking: Ethiopian government decides to release all political prisoners

Breaking: Ethiopian government decides to release all political prisoners

At a joint press briefing given today, 03 January 2018, by the four chairpersons of EPRDF’s member parties. PM Hailemariam Desalegn, who is the chairperson of SEPDM and Ethiopian Prime Minister, said his government will close down the Mae’kelawi police station. The Prime Minister said Mae’kelawi will become “modern museum”.

According to PM Hailemariam Desalegn a new center has been established to replace Ma’ekelawi based on the national parliament’s guidelines on human rights and international standards.

Ethiopia Prime Minister added, charges will be dropped for all “political prisoners” who are currently under prosecution. And pardons will be issued to all who have already been convicted and are serving their sentences in order to create the space for a national dialogue and national consensus.

Other chairpersons of  EPRDF, including TPLF’s Debretsion Gebremichael, ANDM’s Demeke Mekonnen and OPDO’s Lemma Megersa has attend the briefing.

Ethiopian political analyst, Alemneh Wasse Awazze, reported today’s situation as follows;

Check Also

Breaking News: Ethiopian government released Bekele Gerba and 6 others

Ethiopian government has released a prominent leader of the opposition party, Oromo Federalist Congress (OFC), …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *