Home / News / Ethiopia’s Tigray region wins World No Tobacco Day 2017 awards

Ethiopia’s Tigray region wins World No Tobacco Day 2017 awards

Tobacco Free Initiative (TFI), one of WHO Initiatives, announced today (25th August 2017) that Ethiopia’s Tigray region is among World No Tobacco Day 2017 award winners. The statement in WHO Tobacco Free Initiative (TFI) website is below.

Every year, WHO recognizes individuals or organizations in each of the six WHO Regions for their accomplishments in the area of tobacco control. This recognition takes the form of WHO Director-General Special Recognition Awards, World No Tobacco Day Awards.

African Region awardees

  • Tigray Regional Health Bureau, Tigray National Regional State, Federal Democracti Republic of Ethiopia

  • Mrs Olivia Agyekumwaa Boateng, Republic of Ghana

  • Dr Ravelojoeliandriambeloaritafika Aurélien, Directeur de l’Office National de Lutte Antitabac, Republic of Madagascar

  • National Assembly of the Republic of the Gambia

  • Dr Elel Boulou Epse Ndembiyembe Flore, Republic of Cameroon

Tigray region is the first Ethiopian region to banned smoking in public places with fines more than an average monthly wage.


Check Also

Ethiopia making remarkable progress in these three sectors

For many decades, Ethiopia was known by civil war and famine. But in the last …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *