Home / Politics / Ethiopia-Protests / List of Ethiopia’s new cabinet members

List of Ethiopia’s new cabinet members

Ethiopian government has reshuffled its cabinet today, 01 Nov 2016. Out of its ministers, only 9 has continued on their positions.

Here is list of newly assigned ministers;

  1. Workneh Gebeyheu is the new Foreign Minister of Ethiopia

  2. Abreha Tekeste, former state minister of Finance, is now the new Minister of Finance & Economic Development

  3. Tagse Chafo, former Deputy President of Southern Region, is appointed as Public Service Minister

  4. Bekele Bulado (Dr),  appointed as Trade Minister, he is a new face in the  new cabinet.

  5. Professor Fekadu Beyene, is appointed as Minister of Livestock Development & Fisheries.

  6. Eyasu Abreha (Dr), is the new minister of Agriculture & Natural Resources.

  7. Getahun Mekuria (Dr), appointed as Science & Technology Minister.

  8. Ahmed Shide, (former State Minister of Finance), is now minister of Transport Ministry.

  9. Ambachew Mekonnen (Dr), appointed as the new minister of Urban Development & Housing.

  10. Aisha Mohammed, is now appointed as Minister of Construction.

  11. Sileshi Bekele (Dr) is the new Minister of Water, Irrigation & Electricity

  12. Motumma Meksa, is now moved to lead the Ministry of Mines, Petroleum & Natural Gas.

  13. Gemedo Dale (Dr) is the new minister of Environment Forest & climate change.

  14. Shiferaw Tekelemaraim (Dr) is has replaced Ato Shiferaw Shigute, to lead Ministry of Education.

  15. Professor Yiferu Berhane, a new technocrat in the new cabinet, appointed as Minister of Health.

  16.  Restu Yirda replaced Ato Redwan Hussien as a new minister of Youth & Sports.

  17.  Demitu Hambissa moved from Ministry of Public Enterprises to lead Women & Children Affairs Ministry.

  18.  Hirut Woldemariam (Dr), Deputy President of Addis Ababa University, appointed as minister of Culture & Tourism.

  19.  Yilma Amenete is a new Minister of Public Enterprises replacing Demitu Hambissa.

  20.  Kebede Chane, former Minister of Trade & PM Advisor, is now appointed as a new minister of Ethiopian Revenues & Customs Authority

  21.  Negeri Lencho (Dr), former Journalism lecturer, is now appointed as a new minister of Government Communication Affairs replacing Getachew Reda.




Check Also

4 dead in clashes between security forces and protesters in Hamaressa, Harar Ethiopia

At least four protesters are reportedly killed in Hameressa, Harar, South Eastern Ethiopia, when Ethiopian …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *